Posted by: John | August 5, 2012

Mission Statement: To Point Others to JESUS

Brothers & Sisters,

I pray that this finds you filled to overflowing with His peace & joy.  I am excited to share my new mission statement that John Maisel, my dear friend & mentor,  shared with me.  Today I will be sharing this mission statement with you & then I will follow that up with 7 mission mandates. 

“Then JESUS told them a parable: “Suppose one of you has a hundred sheep and loses one of them.  Does he not leave the ninety-nine in the open country & go after the lost sheep until he finds it.  And when he finds it, he joyfully puts it on his shoulders and goes home.  Then he calls his friends and neighbors together and says, ‘Rejoice with me; I have found my lost sheep.’  I tell you that in the same way there will be more rejoicing in heaven over one sinner who repents than over ninety-nine righteous persons who do need to repent” (Luke 15:3-7).

JESUS said, “Or suppose a woman has ten silver coins and loses one.  Does she not light a lamp, sweep the house & search carefully until she finds it?  And when she finds it, she calls her friends & neighbors together & says, ‘Rejoice with me; I have found my lost coin.’  In the same way, I tell you , there is rejoicing in the presence of the angels of God over one sinner who repents” (Luke 15:8-10). 

JESUS said, “So he got up & went to his father.  But while he was still a long way off, his father saw him and was filled with compassion for him; he ran to his son, threw his arms around him & kissed him.  The son said to him, ‘Father, I have sinned against heaven and against you.  I am no longer worthy to be called your son.’  But the father said to his servants, ‘Quick!  Bring the best robe & put it on him.  Put a ring on his finger & sandals on his feet.  Bring the fattened calf & kill it.  Let’s have a feast & celebrate.  For this son of mine was dead & is alive again; he was lost & is found.’  So they began to celebrate” (Luke 15:20-24).

“But He said to me, ‘My grace is sufficient for you, for My power is made perfect in weakness’” (2 Corinthians 12:9).

 My mission statement is: “I exist to point other people to JESUS CHRIST.”

a) To Unbelievers, I point them to the Cross of CHRIST for salvation. 

b) To believers, I point them to the sufficiency of CHRIST.

JESUS shares 3 parables in a row in Luke 15, the Parable of the Lost Sheep, the Parable of the Lost Coin & the Prodigal Son Story to express He & the Father’s tremendous heart for the lost.  JESUS stated his mission as our Savior in Luke 19:10: “For the Son of Man came to seek & save what was lost.”  Each of us who know His precious salvation was once a lost sheep that the Lord pursued in His Sovereign Grace & carried back on His Shoulders!  Now the Lord wants us to go out with His Heart & Perspective in reaching out to share the Good News of JESUS with our family members, neighbors, co-workers, friends, & others in our sphere of influence.

Paul writes, “I am obligated (indebted) both to Greeks & non-Greeks, both to the wise & the foolish” (Romans 1:14).  Oswald Chambers writes, “Paul was overwhelmed with a sense of indebtedness to JESUS, & He spent his life to express it” by sharing JESUS with the lost souls around him.  Do you & I feel the same sense of indebtedness to share JESUS with those around us?  

In the same way, the Lord wants us to build up & encourage our fellow believers by pointing them to JESUS as the Author & Perfecter of our faith.  What an awesome & humbling privilege it is to play a role within the Lord’s plan in lifting up JESUS & pointing people to Him through our life’s actions & words! 

Dear Heavenly Father,     

We are in awe of You!  We praise You for Your Majesty & Holiness!  We’re so grateful for Your Amazing Grace & Love.  You spared not Your Own Son to save us from our sins.  Praise You for Your Faithfulness in giving us JESUS—the Way, the Truth & the Life—the One Bridge to reconcile us to You, O Father!  Thank You for making us worthy by JESUS’ Precious Blood.  O Lord, bless us for Your Name’s Sake with Spirit-filled lives that point people around us to JESUS as Way.  Bless us with Your Heart & Passion for the lost.  We ask that You give us a boldness & sensitivity by Your Holy Spirit to share JESUS wtih those who don’t know You & with fellow believers would would benefit from reminding of Your Sufficiency.  Bless us with opportunities to share JESUS by Your Holy Spirit.  It’s in teh Name above all names–JESUS that I pray.  Amen.   

In His Love,

John

JESUS is 1st!   To Him be All Glory!

Leave a Reply

Categories

