Posted by: John | February 5, 2012

“Here am I. Send me!”

Brothers & Sisters,

I trust the Lord to encourage you in your faith walk with Him.  May the Lord bless you with greater faith & availability to serve Him as He leads you. 

“In the year that King Uzziah died, I saw the Lord seated on a throne, high and exalted and the train of His robe filled the temple.  Above Him were seraphs, each with six wings; With two wings they covered their faces, with two they covered their feet, and with two they were flying.  And they were calling to one another:

‘Holy, holy, holy is the Lord Almighty; the whole earth is filled with His glory.’

At the sound of their voices the doorposts and thresholds shook and the temple was filled with smoke.

‘Woe to me!’  I cried.  ‘I am ruined!  For I am a man of unclean lips, and I live among a people of unclean lips, and my eyes have seen the King, the Lord Almighty.’

Then one of the seraphs flew to me with a live coal in his hand, which he had taken with tongs from the altar.  With it he touched my mouth and said, ‘See, this has touched your lips; your guilt is taken away and your sin atoned for.’ 

Then I heard the voice of the Lord saying, ‘Whom shall I send?  And who will go for us?’

And I said, ‘Here am I.  Send me!’”  (Isaiah 6:1-8).

What a magnificent description of our Almighty God. . . His Majesty, Holiness, Glory, & Grace are beyond measure & comprehension!  As you read the passage, you can’t help but realize your smallness & nothingness compared to the God of the Universe, the King of all Kings, the Alpha & Omega.  Likewise, Isaiah is overwhelmed by God’s Awesome Presence & Holiness.  As he beholds the Majesty of God, Isaiah hears the angels’ worship of the Lord saying, “Holy, holy, holy is the Lord Almighty; the whole earth is filled with His glory.”  The door posts & thresholds are shaking. . . & so is Isaiah’s heart.  Isaiah is gripped by the conviction & guilt of his sin before his Holy God.  He confesses his sin as he cries out, “Woe to me!  I am ruined!  For I am a man of unclean lips & I live among a people of unclean lips, & my eyes have seen the King, the Lord Almighty.”  In this confession, Isaiah acknowledges that he doesn’t deserve to live after having seen the Perfect, Most Holy God.  The Lord then demonstrates His Mercy & Grace by sending the angel to touch Isaiah’s lips with a live coal from the altar to forgive his sin & to reconcile Isaiah to Himself. 

The Lord then asks the question, “Whom shall I send?  And who will go for us?”  Isaiah answers, “Here am I.  Send me!”  “Here am I” is a statement of location.  In a nutshell, Isaiah is humbly & rightly saying, “I’m available . . . if you can use me; I want to be a part of what You’re doing.”  If Isaiah would have said, “Here I am,” he would have been saying something entirely different.  “Here I am” is a statement of being.  It is like proudly saying, “Here I am with all my gifts & abilities. . . I’m an asset for Your Kingdom.”  “Here I am” is something a Pharisee would say.  This statement reflects a proud, self-absorbed heart that fails to maintain a righteous fear of the Lord.  Moreover, the statement represents a heart that does not acknowledge & give glory to the Lord Who makes all the difference.   

Let’s follow Isaiah’s great example.  Let us recognize the Incredible Gift of God’s Grace it is to abide in the Awesome Presence of the Lord Almighty as we worship Him & enjoy relationship with Him.  JESUS paid the Precious Price of His Blood at Calvary’s Cross to forgive our sin & make us right with God.  Let us respond to our Majestic Lord like Isaiah with the fear of the Lord, humility, gratitude, & indebtedness, “Here am I.  Send me!”

Gracious Heavenly Father,

I praise You for Your Majesty & Holiness!  You are the Almighty God, King of Kings, the Great I AM, the Alpha & Omega, the Creator of all things—seen & unseen.  Forgive me of my specific sins.  I’m humbled by Your Amazing Grace & Mercy to forgive us in JESUS!  I’m so indebted to You, O Lord.  Quicken me in Your Way by the Holy Spirit.  Here am I.  Send me!  Show me where You are at work around me & enable me to join you in Your work.  You are my All & All!  Help yourself to my life to glorify JESUS & fulfill Your purpose!  I ask it in all in JESUS’ Powerful Name.  Amen. 

In His Love,

John

JESUS is 1st!  To Him be All Glory!

Leave a Reply

Categories

