Posted by: John | January 21, 2012

Available By Design

Brothers & Sisters, 
 
“But in your hearts set apart Christ as Lord.  Always be prepared to give an answer to everyone who asks you to give the reason for the hope that you have.  But do this with gentleness and respect” (1 Peter 3:15).
 
“Preach the Word; be prepared in season and out of season” (2 Timothy 4:2a,b).
 
On most days, I attempt to squeeze 10 pounds into a 5 pound bag & as a result, I have little to no margin.  I was humbled when God showed me what He can do if I just make myself available for Him.  I had worked well through the lunch hour & I started to leave the office at 315pm & to go grab a Subway sandwich.   As I was leaving, I realized I didn’t have my blackberry.  I felt naked without it & I thought about going back to get it, but then it dawned on me that it wasn’t by accident.  For anyone who knows how I am with that blackberry, they would attest that I am anything but available when it is in my hands.  I kept moving towards the elevators & whispered a prayer to the Lord, “This is by design that I don’t have my blackberry.  Lord, I want to make myself available for whatever You have for me at Subway.”  When I got to Subway, I found that no one was there.  Although once I approached the counter, a gentleman came out of the very back office to serve me.  This man & I had interacted several times before but it had always been rushed in the midst the hustle & bustle of a bunch of other customers.  After receiving my order, he started making my Spicy Italian Foot Long sandwich.  Then, he turned to me & unexpectedly asked, “Where do you go to church?”  After a few more conversation exchanges, it became clear that Kwaniem & I were both brothers in the Lord.  After celebrating that fact, our conversation turned towards a deeper, more passionate focus on the Lord & His Word.  Kwaniem shared some encouraging Scriptures with me while he continued to make me a delicious sandwich.  During our conversation, we noticed that a woman had entered & was standing in line listening intently to our conversation.  After a few more exchanges with Kwaniem, I acknowledged her saying, “I know we’re going on & on. . .we’re getting fired up.”  She turned to me with a smile & replied, “Please go on, I’m listening.”  We spoke for a couple more minutes more about how much the Lord meant to us as I paid for my sandwich.  Then, the woman interjected, “I am here by design. . .  I haven’t been to church in a long time & I needed to hear this.  I need to get my focus back on the Lord.”  We enjoyed a few more moments of fellowship together & found out her name was Kaneisha.  I praised the Lord for how He brought Kwaniem & Kaneisha across my path by His Sovereignty on that seemingly ordinary day.  And I was grateful for Kaneisha’s openness & for Kwaniem’s boldness to ask the question that kick-started our conversation about JESUS.
 
It was fascinating that in Kaneisha’s statement & my prayer, we both used the words “by design.”  Yet, when you think about it, our life is “by His design” for JESUS’ Purpose & Glory.  Paul writes, “For we are God’s workmanship (masterpiece), created in CHRIST JESUS to do good works which God prepared in advance for us to do” (Ephesians 2:10).
 
Dear Heavenly Father,

We praise You for Your Amazing Grace & Sovereignty.  We thank You that You are always at work around us.  Forgive us for when we’re so caught up in our own agendas that we don’t notice what You’re doing & we don’t hear Your call to join You in Your work.  O Lord, bless us with sensitivity to Your Spirit’s leading in our every day lives.  Help us by Your Holy Spirit to live out of Your agenda for the glory of JESUS.  It’s in the Precious & Most Powerful Name of JESUS, we pray.  Amen.

In His Love,

John

JESUS is 1st!  To Him be All Glory!

Responses

  1. You are a great example of a Brother in Christ…


Leave a Reply

Categories

