Posted by: John | January 7, 2012

Trials Produce Intimacy with God

Brothers & Sisters,

I pray this finds you blessed in every way as you lean into & trust the Lord with all your heart!  

“Sometimes God calms the storm.  Sometimes He lets the storm rage . . . and He calms His child.” Anonymous 

“These (trials) have come so that your faith—of greater worth than gold, which perishes even though refined by fire—may be proved genuine & may result in praise, glory & honor when JESUS CHRIST is revealed” (1 Peter 1:7).

“This is what the High and Lofty One says—He Who lives forever, Whose Name is Holy: ‘I live in a high and holy place, but also with him who is contrite and lowly in spirit, to revive the spirit of the lowly and to revive the heart of the contrite’” (Isaiah 57:15). 

Why does the Lord often let the storms rage?  Why does God, in His Sovereignty, allow the trials to hit us like waves crashing on the beach?  Peter writes in 1 Peter 1:7 that our faith needs to be tested through trials in order to be made real & strong.  And it is for JESUS’ glory that our faith is strengthened & proved genuine in these trials.  Moreover, trials encourage us to lean hard into our Heavenly Father.  Through trying circumstances, we find that our true strength lies in the Lord.  Most importantly, during these times in the valley, we get to know the Lord intimately as our Almighty Rock, Refuge & Best Friend

A close friend of mine often says, “God is going to break us all down like an old shotgun.”  As the Lord states in Isaiah 57, He makes His home with the broken.  As I’ve shared before, the Lord has lovingly broken me down through numerous circumstances & trials over the last 5-6 years.  The Lord has had to get me to a place of brokenness where I can listen.  It is there that God’s truth sinks deeper into my heart & I thank God, acknowledging that every gift I have is from His Hand.  I’ve found that when I invite JESUS into my brokenness, He meets me & ministers to me in very special ways.  It is in brokenness that I cherish JESUS the most & exalt Him the highest.  Moreover, the Lord blesses me as I trust & obey Him.  I find the most precious fruit is a deeper trust & intimacy with my Almighty Lord & Savior. 

O Gracious Heavenly Father,

          I praise You for being the Lover of my soul!  Praise You for how you never stop pursuing me!  Thank You for allowing the trials to test & strengthen my faith in You for JESUS’ glory!   O Lord, I praise You for lovingly breaking me down, so I can trust You in a deeper way & experience a greater oneness with You.  O Lord, it is in brokenness that I cherish You the most & exalt You the highest!  Help me to carry this brokenness with me always so I might always hold onto You ever so tightly as the One Who alone makes me whole.   O God, thanks for reminding me through trials that You alone are my Strength & my Song!  Bless me with deeper roots in You for Your glory!  It’s in the Almighty Name of JESUS, I pray.  Amen.

In His Love,

John 

JESUS is 1st!  To Him be All Glory!

Leave a Reply

Categories

