Posted by: John | December 3, 2011

JESUS + Nothing = Everything

Brothers & Sisters,

I pray this finds you richly blessed as you cherish JESUS, our Most Precious Treasure!  

“But seek first His kingdom and His righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well” (Matthew 6:33).

“Find rest, O my soul, in God alone; my hope comes from Him.  He alone is my rock and my salvation.  He is my fortress, I will not be shaken.  My salvation and my honor depend on God” (Psalm 62:5-7).

“My flesh and my heart may fail, but God is the strength of my heart & my portion forever” (Psalm 73:26).

My great friend & mentor recently shared a couple illustrative Biblical equations:

JESUS + Nothing = Everything

As we focus on JESUS alone for our salvation & security, we celebrate JESUS as the Lord & Savior of our life.  When we recklessly abandon & trust the Lord to fill in the blanks in our life with what He wants for us, we experience His best.  Most importantly, the Lord satisfies our soul through His abundant, intimate relationship that JESUS died & rose again to give us.  Moreover, God blesses us with an adventurous life of faith where He reveals Himself & faithfully shows Himself strong in our weakness.  If our life is a pie, JESUS is clearly the Center.  He is our Ruling Passion Who drives every aspect of our life.

 JESUS + Something = A Temporary Fix

When we focus on JESUS plus other things, we live a shallower life that is more about us than Him.  We are filling in the blanks of our own life instead of truly surrendering to God.  Our life is characterized by pursuing our own agenda.  If our life is a pie, JESUS is merely a piece and far from being the Central Source.  We’re not cherishing & worshipping the Lord as the Source of our life’s significance & meaning.  Instead, we’re seeking significance in the stuff (i.e. success, power, wealth, status, popularity) of this world, which can at best provide only a temporary fix.     

O Gracious Father,

I praise You for being the Strength of my life & my Portion forever!  You are my Most Precious Treasure!  I celebrate You as the One Who defined me with Your Unconditional Love poured out so at Calvary through Your Son.  Forgive me, Father, for how I have allowed myself to be distracted by the idols of this world!  Find rest, O my soul, in God alone!  Only You can satisfy my soul!  Bless me with greater faith that recklessly abandons to You!  Take all of me, bless me with oneness with You, & make this life fully count for JESUS’ Glory!  It’s in the Precious & Most Powerful Name of JESUS, I pray.  Amen.

In His Love,

John 

JESUS is 1st!  To Him be All Glory!

Responses

  1. What a wonderful devotional! Thank you for sharing your gift of wisdom, intercession, and joy.

    • Thanks Andrea! All praise be to the Lord for His Word! I pray this finds you blessed in every way! Have a great Christmas season celebrating our Precious Lord & Savior! In His Grace, John


Leave a Reply

Categories

